The Catholic University of America

Faculty Handbook Part I: The Government of the University - A. The Organization of the University

Section 5: The Faculties

Approved by: Board of Trustees
History: Issued --
  Revised --June 2006
  Additional History
Responsible Official:

Provost tel. (202)319-5244


The Faculties

As a corporate entity, a Faculty is a body of teachers empowered to act in such matters as the appointment and pro­motion of its members, the admission of students, the prescription of curriculum requirements, and the recommendation of candidates for degrees. The term, however, is often used unofficially to denote the body of teachers in the entire institution or in a component part of a Faculty, such as a Department.

Only those who hold appointments in faculty rank (i.e., the rank of Instructor or higher rank) are members entitled to vote on matters before a Faculty. Requirements and procedures for appointments as members and associates of a Faculty are explained in Part II of this Faculty Handbook. It will be noted that privileges of participation in meetings without the right to vote may be extended to associates and to students and that in certain matters, especially in appointments and promotions and in consultations prior to the appointment of a Dean or Chair of a Department, separate votes may be required of tenured members of a Faculty or of those higher in rank than a candidate for appointment or promotion.

There are at present eleven Schools of the University and a Metropolitan College. In order of establishment, the Schools are Theology and Religious Studies (1889), Philosophy (1895), Columbus School of Law (1899), Arts and Sciences (1906), Canon Law (originally established in 1923, re-established in 2002), Engineering (1930), the National Catholic School of Social Service (1934), Nursing (1935), the Benjamin T. Rome School of Music (1965), Library and Information Science (1981), and Architecture and Planning (1992). Each School is administered by a Dean who reports to the Provost and the President.

Two Schools are subdivided into departments. Each Department is administered by a Chair who is responsible to the Dean and Faculty of the Department.The School of Arts and Sciences has Departments of Anthropology, Art, Biology, Business and Economics, Chemistry, Drama, Education, English Language and Literature, Greek and Latin, History, Mathematics, Media Studies, Modern Languages and Literatures, Physics, Politics, Psychology, Semitic and Egyptian Languages and Literatures, and Sociology, as well as Programs in Biochemistry, Comparative Literature, and Irish Studies. The Academic Council of the School, composed of the Chairs of the Departments with the Dean presiding, is the standing committee of the Faculty with primary responsibility for the administration of the School.

The School of Engineering has Departments of Biomedical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, and Mechanical Engineering, as well as a Program in Engineering Management. The Chairs of the Departments constitute the Executive Committee of the School, over which the Dean presides. The University also offers interdisciplinary programs in Early Christian Studies and in Medieval and Byzantine Studies.


Faculty Handbook of The Catholic University of America, 2006 Edition