The Catholic University of America

Faculty Handbook Part I: The Government of the University - A. The Organization of the University

Section 2: The Board of Trustees

Approved by: Board of Trustees


Issued --
  Revised --August 6, 2007
  Additional History
Responsible Official: Vice President for University Relations and Chief of Staff tel. (202) 319-5100

Board of Trustees:

The civil charter and the Bylaws place in the Board of Trustees ultimate responsibility for governance and sole responsibility for fiscal affairs of the University. The Board's membership is limited to fifty persons. The Chancellor, who is the Archbishop of Washington, and the President are members ex officio. The remaining forty-eight (except for those cardinals who are diocesan bishops) serve for a specific term. Of those forty-eight, twenty-four shall be clerics of the Roman Catholic Church and twenty-four shall be laypersons. Additionally, at least eighteen of the clerical members must be members of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. The Board holds scheduled meetings four times each year. Its Executive Committee meets during intervals between Board meetings and on call by the Chairman and is empowered to act for the Board.

The officers of the Board Chairman and Vice Chairman are elected from the membership for a term of three years. Members serve terms of four years, and normally serve only two additional terms in succession. The Chairman, the Chancellor, the President, and the Chairs of the standing committees on Academic Affairs, Audit, Development, Finance, Seminary, Student Affairs and Trusteeship are members ex officio of the Executive Committee. Three other at-large members are elected to the Executive Committee from the membership of the board. Non-voting membership in these standing committees may be extended to duly appointed members of the Administration, Faculties, and Staffs, to undergraduate and post?baccalaureate students, and to externs.

The Bylaws provide for attendance at meetings of the Board of three representatives of the Faculties, who participate without vote, and for attendance at meetings of the Executive Committee of one of these representatives, again without vote. Each representative is elected for a three year term and may be re-elected for only one consecutive term. By decision of the Academic Senate, the representatives are elected by and from each of three groups of Faculties, namely, the School of Arts and Sciences, the Ecclesiastical Schools (Canon Law, Philosophy, and Theology & Religious Studies), and the Professional Schools (Architecture & Planning, Engineering, Law, Library and Information Science, Music, Nursing, and Social Service). The Provost solicits nominations from committees elected for the purpose by the respective Faculties and conducts the elections by mail ballot. A majority of votes cast is required for election, but in the event that a third ballot is required, a simple majority suffices.

It is the current practice of the Board to invite, through designation by the Chairman, one undergraduate and one graduate student to serve as a non-voting member of the Board's standing committees on Academic Affairs and Student Life. The Graduate Student Association and Undergraduate Student Government nominate candidates for these appointments. These appointments must be ratified by the vice president for student life and the respective committee secretaries. The President of The Catholic University of America Alumni Association is also invited to participate in meetings of the Board of Trustees as a non-voting representative of the alumni.

Faculty Handbook of The Catholic University of America, 2007 Edition