The Catholic University of America

Archived 8/6/07

Board of Trustees:

The civil charter and the Bylaws place in the Board of Trustees ultimate responsibility for governance and sole responsibility for fiscal affairs of the University. The Board's membership is limited to fifty persons of whom twenty-five, but no more, must be clerics of the Roman Catholic Church. The Chancellor, who is the Archbishop of Washington, and the President are members ex officio. The Board holds scheduled meetings four times each year. Its Executive Committee meets during intervals between Board meetings and on call by the Chairman and is empowered to act for the Board.

The officers of the Board ‑‑ Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Secretary ‑‑ are elected from the membership for a term of three years. Members serve terms of four years, may not serve more than two additional terms in succession, and must retire at the end of the term during which they attain the age of 75 years. The Chairman, the Chancellor, the President, and the Chairs of the standing committees on Academic Affairs, Audit, Development, Finance, Seminary, Student Affairs and Trusteeship are members ex officio of the Executive Committee, to which other members are appointed by the Chairman. Non‑voting membership in these standing committees is extended to duly appointed members of the Administration, Faculties, and Staffs, to undergraduate and post‑baccalaureate students, and to externs.

The Bylaws provide for attendance at meetings of the Board of three representatives of the Faculties, who participate without vote, and for attendance at meetings of the Executive Committee of one of these repre­sentatives, again without vote. Each representative is elected for a three‑year term and may be re‑elected for only one consecutive term. By decision of the Academic Senate, the representatives are elected by and from each of three groups of Faculties, namely, the School of Arts and Sciences, the Ecclesiastical Schools (Canon Law, Philosophy, and Theology & Religious Studies), and the Professional Schools (Architecture & Planning, Engineering and , Law, Library and Information Science, Music, Nursing, and Social Service). The Provost solicits nomina­tions from committees elected for the purpose by the respective Faculties and conducts the elections by mail ballot. A majority of votes cast is required for election, but in the event that a third ballot is required, a simple majority suffices.

It is the current practice of the Board to invite, through designation by the Chairman, one undergraduate and one gradutate student to serve as a non‑voting member of the Board's standing committees. The Graduate Student Association and Undergraduate Student Government nomi­nate candidates for these appointments. The President of The Catholic University of America Alumni Association is also invited to participate in meetings of the Board of Trustees as a non‑voting representative of the alumni.

Faculty Handbook of The Catholic University of America, 2006 Edition