The Catholic University of America

Faculty Handbook: Part I
The Government of the University
The Organization of the University

Board of Trustees

Archived 11/30/05

Changes made per Secretary of the Board

*Minor revisions made from prior descripton of the makeup of the Board of Trustees
and Executive Officers. Areas changed or deleted are in red.

Board of Trustees

The civil charter and the Bylaws place in the Board of Trustees ultimate responsibility for governance and sole responsibility for fiscal affairs of the University. The Board's membership is limited to forty persons of whom twenty, but no more, must be clerics of the Roman Catholic Church. The Chancellor, who is the Archbishop of Washington, and the President are members ex officio. The Board holds scheduled meetings about four times each year. Its Executive Committee meets during intervals between Board meetings and on call by the Chairman and is empowered to act for the Board.

The officers of the Board ‑‑ Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Secretary ‑‑ are elected annually from the membership. Members serve terms of four years, may not serve more than two terms in succession, and must retire at the end of the term during which they attain the age of seventy years. The Chairman, the Chancellor, the President, and the chairmen of standing committees on Academic Affairs, Development and Public Relations, Finance, Physical Plant and Campus Planning, and Student Affairs are members ex officio of the Executive Committee, to which other members are appointed by the Chairman. Non‑voting membership in these standing committees is extended to duly appointed members of the Administration, Faculties, and Staffs, to undergraduate and post‑baccalaureate students, and to externs.

The Bylaws provide for attendance at meetings of the Board of three representatives of the Faculties, who participate without vote, and for attendance at meetings of the Executive Committee of one of these repre­sentatives, again without vote. Each representative is elected for a three‑year term and may be re‑elected for only one consecutive term. By decision of the Academic Senate, the representatives are elected by and from each of three groups of Faculties, namely, the School of Arts and Sciences, the Ecclesiastical Schools (Philosophy and Religious Studies), and the Professional Schools (Education, Engineering and Architecture, Law, Music, Nursing, and Social Service). The Provost solicits nomina­tions from committees elected for the purpose by the respective Faculties and he conducts the elections by mail ballot. A majority of votes cast is required for election, but in the event that a third ballot is required, a simple majority suffices.

As authorized by the Bylaws, the Board of Trustees invites two stu­dents, representing undergraduate and post‑baccalaureate students respec­tively, to attend meetings of the Board and to participate without vote. It is the current practice of the Board to invite, through designation by the Chairman, one undergraduate and one post‑baccalaureate student to serve as a non‑voting member of each of the standing committees mentioned above. The Graduate Student Association and Undergraduate Student Government nomi­nate candidates for these appointments. The President of The Catholic University of America Alumni Association is also invited to participate in meetings of the Board of Trustees as a non‑voting representative of the alumni.